Dam Model Competition

The Association of State Dam Safety Officials (ASDSO) is calling for applications from college student design teams to construct a dam model (tabletop size) based on the criteria discussed below. University student groups, student branches of professional organizations, or other students interested in dam safety are encouraged to apply. 

Application Requirements

  • Team Member Names and Affiliations
  • Team Leader and Co-Leader (if used)
  • Technical Advisor to Team (if used)
  • Sketch(es) of proposed dam model and description of major components
  • Proposed budget to build the dam (not to exceed $500)
  • Schedule for model development (must show model completion by May 1, 2020)
  • Plans for use of the model after it is built. Special consideration given to unique uses (e.g., children’s museums, schools, etc.)

Selection Criteria

  • Completeness of application (based on requirements above)
  • Unique aspects of proposed model (e.g., dambreak, hydropower, gated spillways, rainfall-runoff, etc.)
  • Technical merit
  • Budget and schedule
  • Plans for the model to promote dam safety in the community 

Winning Prize

Based on the selection criteria above, one team will be selected to receive the following:

  • Funding to build the model on the schedule provided
  • Complimentary full conference registration for up to 2 team members at the ASDSO Regional Conference 
  • $500 honorarium to team   
  • Travel and accommodations covered for up to 2 team members at the ASDSO Regional Conference
  • Invitation to present model as a “lightning talk” at ASDSO Regional Conference. Ground shipping of model to and from conference is included. 

Download the Dam Model Competition application today! 


If you have technical questions regarding the dam model competition please contact Ben Webster, P.E., at ben.webster at stantec.com or by calling (859) 422-3192. For questions regarding the application please contact Ross Brown at ross.brown at damsafety.org or by calling (859) 550-2788 x5.  

Special thanks to our sustaining members