Student Paper Competition

ASDSO’s tenth annual Student Paper Competition winners will be honored at Dam Safety 2019, September 8-12 in Orlando, FL. ASDSO annually invites students to submit papers on dam and levee safety topics including traditional areas of design engineering, structural and geotechnical analysis, hydrology, hydraulics, construction, risk management and hazard mitigation, emergency action planning, dam security, and policy. Please check back in November 2019 for information on the next student paper competition.

2019 Student Paper Competition Winners

Arced Labyrinth Weirs in Reservoirs
Seth D. Thompson, Hydraulic and Hydrologic Designer, Gannett Fleming (Formerly a MS Student at Utah State University)
Co-Author: Blake P. Tullis, Ph.D., Professor, Utah State University

Regional Semi-Empirical Site Response Model for Sacramento San-Joaquin Delta Levees
Tristan E. Buckreis, Ph.D. Student, University of California, Los Angeles


Award History

2018 Rowshon Jadid, North Carolina State University; Lucien Hollins, Arizona State University
2017 Shahin Safavizadeh, North Carolina State University; Thomas Robbins, Boise State University
2016 Emily Reed, Tennessee Technological University; Yi Tyan Tsai, University of California Los Angeles
2015 Alexander P. Sturm, University of California Davis; Ali Asghari Tabrizi, University of South Carolina; Lourdes Polanco-Boulware, Utah State University
2014 Daniel VandenBerge, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; Beena Ajmera, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; Laura Ferre, University of Colorado-Denver
2013 Natalie A. Youngblood, Colorado State University; Lourdes Polanco, Utah State University; Ebrahim Ahmadisharaf, and Nowfel Mahmud Bhuyian, Tennessee Technological University
2012 Sittinan Benjasupattananan, University of Delaware; Wyatt Jenkins, University of Missouri; Kevin Cook, Kristin Pesman, Katrina Schwab, James Shannon, and Justin Milne, Seattle University
2011 Christopher Sandt, University of North Carolina; Mishelle Shriro and Diego Cobos-Roa, UC-Berkeley; Mahdi Khalilzad, North Carolina State University
2010 Benjamin Skousen, University of Utah; Lourdes Polanco, Utah State University
2009 Rachael Bisnett, Purdue University; David Judi, University of Utah; Abouzar Sadrekarimi, University of Illinois-Urbana Champaign
Special thanks to our sustaining members