Dam Model Competition

Dam Model Competition

The Dam Model competition calls for university student groups, student branches of professional organizations, K-12 classes, or other students interested in dam safety to construct a dam model (tabletop size) based on the criteria discussed below and come up with a plan on how to best use the model to educate the public on dam safety.  The Dam Model Competition is organized by the Committee on Career Development and Student Outreach. It is funded by the Bruce Tschantz Memorial Fund. 

The 2025 Dam Model Competition submission window is open. All Dam Model Competition submissions must be received by December 1, 2024

Application Requirements

  • Team Member Names and Affiliations
  • Team Leader and Co-Leader (if used)
  • Technical Advisor to Team (if used) *If you are in need of a Technical Advisor, ASDSO can assist in connecting you with members who are interested in assisting. Contact ASDSO to learn more.
  • Sketch(es) of the proposed dam model and description of major components
  • Proposed budget to build the dam (not to exceed $500)
  • Schedule for model development 
  • Plans for use of the model after it is built. Special consideration is given to unique uses (e.g., children’s museums, schools, etc.)

Selection Criteria

  • Completeness of application (based on requirements above)
  • Unique aspects of the proposed model (e.g., dambreak, hydropower, gated spillways, rainfall-runoff, etc.)
  • Technical merit
  • Budget and schedule
  • Plans for the model to promote dam safety in the community 

Winning Prize

Based on the selection criteria above, each winning team will receive the following:

  • Funding to build the model (up to $500)
  • $1,000 honorarium to team   
  • Invitation to present model at an upcoming ASDSO Conference
  • Complimentary full conference registration for team members at an upcoming ASDSO Conference 
  • Travel and stipend for up to $1,500 for team members to an upcoming ASDSO Conference

If you have questions regarding the dam model competition please contact Ross Brown via email or by calling (859) 550-2788. 

Are you not ready to submit your paper this year or want to learn more about student opportunities with ASDSO? Complete our student opportunities interest form to learn more.


2023 Winners

University of Wisconsin-Platteville

  • Monte Glodowski, Matthew Franklin, and Justin Mitchell
  • Technical Advisor: Janelle Skoyen Hestekin, P.E.



Franklin Regional Middle School 

  • Milana Andreyko and Alyse Mooney
  • Technical Advisor: A.J. Danny



Wyoming Indian Elementary School 

  • Anpo Amos, Chason Whiteplume, Dax Antelope, Hunter Soundingsides, Levi Redman, and Wylee Enos
  • Technical Advisor: Devon McLay, P.E.
  • Team Leader: Anthony Farley


Past Winners: 

  • 2022 - Colorado State University - Joe Bindner, Esther Clement, Charles VanTilburg, Sam Jacob, Garrett Martin, Matthew Bullock, and Technical Advisor: Dr. Christopher Bareither
  • 2022 - Fort Mill High School, Fort Mill, S.C. - Yoshiharu Ono and Technical Advisor: Erwin Supranata. View Yoshiharu's presentation. 
  • 2022 - British Columbia - Sohan Sadeque (New Westminster Secondary School), Sarah Firoz (Burnaby Mountain Secondary School), Alina Sadeque (Skwo:wech Elementary School), Sally Firoz (Burnaby Mountain Secondary School), and Technical Advisor: Dr. Faheem Sadeque, Ph.D., P.Eng. View their presentation.
  • 2021 – Franklin Regional Middle School - Grace Copeland, Ella Haritan, Jason Fleming, Vedanth Reddyvari, Zach Sudol, and Teacher Arthur J. Danny. 
  • 2020 – Utah State University - Kyler Olsen, Braiden Amata, Jack Tousley, Kathryn Margetts, and Professor Brian Crookston, PhD., P.E.